The Santa Fe Convention: A 20th Century Convention of States

January 17, 2014  by Rob Natelson

For over 300 years, American states (and before Independence, American colonies) have cooperated with each other as equal sovereigns to address common problems.

One device for doing so is the formal, diplomatic meeting of state delegations (called “committees”) consisting of delegates (called “commissioners”). Meetings of state commissioners may be bilateral—as when two states form a boundary commission to resolve a boundary dispute.  Such gatherings also may be multilateral—that is, with three or more state committees participating. The usual label for a multi-state meeting is convention.

Most commentators on the Constitution have shown no familiarity with any multi-state conventions other than the 1787 Constitutional Convention and (sometimes) the Annapolis Convention held the previous year. Some opponents of the Article V “convention for proposing amendments” have even argued that the 1787 gathering is our only historical precedent.

The truth is dramatically different. Far from the 1787 Philadelphia convention being unique, at the time it was more like business as usual. Over the previous century, there had been more 30 conventions among colonies and states. The Constitutional Convention was the 11th held since Independence had been declared in 1776. Others had been held in Providence (twice), York Town, PA (1777), Springfield (1777), Hartford (twice), New Haven (1778), Philadelphia (1780), Boston (1780), and Annapolis (1786).

Read More

This entry was posted in Freedom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply